2024 Hall of Fame

Date: April 20, 2024
Time: 1:00 – 4:00 pm

$30 for adults
$15 for children 12 and under

NPHS Hall of Fame Cafeteria
North Plainfield High School
34 Wilson Ave
North Plainfield, NJ 07060

Congratulations to the following team, and individuals who will be inducted into the 2024 NPHS Alumni Association Hall of Fame.

1996 Championship Girls Track team coached by Ted Amo.
James Forster ’71
Roger Graubard ’67
Dr. Suzanne Madden ’71
Dr. Kari Nadeau ’84
Schuyler Quackenbush ’71
Dr. Christopher Ruff ’71

Don’t want to pay online, and would like to mail a check?

  1. You can complete the online form, and don’t continue to the payment page, mail a check instead for the amount owed.
  2. OR use this PDF to fill out the form and mail the form and the check.

Mail checks to:

NPHS Alumni Association, c/o Dan Battista, 34 Regent St, North Plainfield, NJ 07060

Please contact us if you have questions.  Email: [email protected]

The undefeated 1996 NPHS Girls Track team, coached by Ted Amo was the only girls’ sports team to achieve State Champion status, and championships in Mountain Valley Conference, Somerset County and Somerset Country Relays will be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

James Forster, Class of 1971 will be inducted into the Hall of Fame for his work in the area of Networking Industry. Mr. Forster had a long career with Cisco Systems, starting when the company employed 30, and retiring in 2008 with payroll growing to 50,000 employees. James, has been active in his “retirement years” holding the board chair position for an organization which helps to develop access to internet and communications in developing countries. He holds patents, and a number of publications.

Roger Graubard, Class of 1967 will be inducted into the Hall of Fame under the category of Educator/Coach honoring his 45-year education career, spanning from 1972 to 2015. Roger has a passion for supporting teens in special education; he was instrumental in developing and directing the NP Alternative High School. He has been a pillar in North Plainfield, serving on borough’s Board of Education, supervising the Evening Adult School, the Education Association, and serving on the Alumni Association. Roger has taught an array of subjects… Geography, History, Sociology, Psychology, Economics and Holocaust Studies. His passion for youth wasn’t left in the classroom.  He was also found on the field, coaching girls’ soccer, boys middle school soccer. Roger continues to coach the Boys Varsity tennis team. Roger has given back to the NP community through teaching, coaching, mentoring, and volunteering.

Dr. Suzanne Madden, Class of 1971 will be inducted into the Hall of Fame for her work in astronomy, . Dr. Madden discovered the first ammonia masers in space, emitting from within our galaxy which are signposts of regions of active star formations. Dr. Maddens important work has played a role in the science exploitation of data from NASA and the European Space Agency infrared space telescopes; studies from these missions have advanced our knowledge of the interstellar medium of galaxies. Her work as led her to numerous awards, and hundreds of peer-reviewed publications.

Dr. Kari C. Nadeau, Class of 1984 will be inducted into the Hall of Fame for her extensive work in the area of adult and pediatric allergy and asthma. Dr. Nadeau, a graduate from Harvard Medical School is the founder of the Sean N. Parker Center for Allergy and Asthma research at Stanford University. She is currently the Chair of the Department of Environmental Health at Harvard School of Public Health and John Rock Professor of Climate and Population Studies. She practices Allergy, Asthma, Immunology in children and adults. She has published over 400+ papers, many in the field of climate change and health. Dr. Nadeau, with a team of individuals and patients and families, has been able to help major progress and impact in the clinical fields of immunology, infection, asthma and allergy. 

Dr. Schuyler Quackenbush, Class of 1971 will be inducted into the Hall of Fame. His extensive work on creating new audio coding algorithms, such MPEG Advanced Audio Coding and MPEG-H 3D Audio Coding as earned him this honor.Dr. Quackenbush is one of the developers of the technology for the international standard “Advanced Audio Coding (AAC) – technology is found in every smart phone and most audio/visual devices, totaling more than 8 billion devices worldwide. Dr. Quackenbush earned BS degree from Princeton University, MS degree from Georgia Institute of Technology and PhD from Georgia Institute of Technology. He has 26 patents, 10 books or book chapters, in addition to journal and conference papers.

Dr. Christopher Ruff, Class of 1971 is an Anthropologist with an extensive career at Johns Hopkins Medicine. He served as the director of the Center for Functional Anatomy and Evolution (FAE) prior to his retirement in 2020. He has hundreds of published articles and book chapters, along with multiple research awards from public and private foundation. Recognized as one of the leading authorities in the field of biological anthropology, Dr. Ruff will be inducted into the Hall of Fame.